Maverick

Icon

Unbranded and home on the range.

Dichotomy of Elements

A poem my friend Youssuf wrote long ago – I’m simply in love with it.

A Dichotomy of Elements

By Youssuf el-Kalay

Fire
Ice
Two basic elements
Created to be
To serve
To yield
Fragments of a verbal ember
Dancing on the edge of a tongue
Warming, tingling, charming
Through the eyes and ears
Of a love long forgotten
Then cometh the bonds
Then cometh the stillness
Though it be still
It burns all
And does not relent
Yields not to its cousin
Of earth wind or space
Nor to its lover
Nay it is a constant force
Halting for none
Except for One

Filed under: Quality Reads, Rune

2 Responses

  1. Organica says:

    Sorry (unrelated comment)

    But I wanted to note that I was very pleased and impressed by the comments of the author of this blog on my blog! Never got to respond to many of the comments, but I wanted to acknowledge that I agreed and laughed all at the same.

    Please stop by again and I’ll make sure to add this blog to my reader 🙂

  2. Umm Khawla says:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

