Maverick

Icon

Unbranded and home on the range.

What Goes Around Comes Around, Baby

Well, this looks friendly!

The VATICAN!!! … of all places, my goodness … is stumping for Islamic finance?! I mean, I know some people are just plain slow, but WOW guys! come on! It took you 1400 years to get the drift? I’m all for taking time to exact proper due diligence, to make sure you know what you’re getting into but really … a millennia-and-a-half?

Oh wait never mind you were probably waiting for the ghost of Pope Urban II to cool his jets about this decision, I mean, DUH! you need money to start yet another [ill-advised] joyride into lands yonder to the East.

Vatican promotes Islamic finance in face of global crisis

Vatican says Western banks should look at rules of Islamic finance to restore confidence amongst clients.

ROME – The Vatican said banks should look at the rules of Islamic finance to restore confidence amongst their clients during the current global economic crisis.”The ethical principles on which Islamic finance is based may bring banks closer to their clients and to the true spirit which should mark every financial service”, the Vatican’s official newspaper Osservatore Romano said in an article in its latest issue.

The article argues that Western banks could use tools such as the Islamic bonds, known as sukuk, as collateral.

Sukuk may be used to fund the “car industry or the next Olympic Games in London”, it said.

The article also said that profit share, gained from sukuk, may be an alternative to the interest, underlining that the sukuk system could help automotive sector and support investments in infrastructure area.

Using the Islamic sukuk system, money would be invested in concrete projects and profit share – instead of interest earned – is distributed to clients.

The Osservatore’s editor, Giovanni Maria Vian, said that “the great religions have always had a common attention to the human dimension of the economy,” Corriere della Sera reported.

 

 

[source]

(Hat tip to Pact for the link)

sing it baby!

Hey girl, is he everything you wanted in a man?
You know I gave you the world
You had me in the palm of your hand
So why your love went away
I just can’t seem to understand
Thought it was me and you babe
Me and you until the end
But I guess I was wrongDon’t want to think about it
Don’t want to talk about it
I’m just so sick about it
Can’t believe it’s ending this way
Just so confused about it
Feeling the blues about it
I just can’t do without ya
Tell me is this fair?

Is this the way it’s really going down?
Is this how we say goodbye?
Should’ve known better when you came around
That you were gonna make me cry
It’s breaking my heart to watch you run around
‘Cause I know that you’re living a lie
That’s okay baby ’cause in time you will find…

What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around
What goes around, goes around, goes around
Comes all the way back around


 

 

Filed under: Current Affairs, Riposte

2 Responses

  1. sukkar&filfil says:

    ok, i’m not a jt fan (at all) but i once shared your respect for nickelback (saving me, i saw it on another post of yours). wat’s it to do with the vatican and islamic finance?

  2. maverick007 says:

    I’m not a JT fan either. In this case I merely picked a song that would make for a sarcastic footnote to the blog entry.

    I put the song in for the irony, about what goes around comes around.

Leave a Reply

