Maverick

Icon

Unbranded and home on the range.

I see dead people.

So, beause today’s Friday and because I closed a good opportunity that had been in the pipeline for quite a while, I was of course, kinda happy and walking on cloud nine. The kid inside of me felt like celebrating so I started spinning myself around and around in my chair, getting delieriously drunk on the dizzyness until … I fell outta my chair. All 170 pounds of me came tumbling onto the floor, limbs splayed out, and then I was clutching my head with both hands, moaning and trying to get up off the floor.

I tried but fell over again.

A colleague several cubicles away, was walking by and stopped, sipping on a drink with one hand and the other hand stuffed in his pocket. I heard him sarcastically quip about calling 9-1-1, and then he nonchalantly walked off. Then a minute later another colleague thought to extract his face away from his monitor and looked over at me and asked in a distant voice “oh did you just fall outta yer chair?” and then promptly went back to laughing at whatever stuff was on his screen.

…. annnnd, that was it. Everyone was either cold and heartless and didn’t give a jack about anyone else because they’re all scared of getting sued for being nice and helpful. Or, they’re thought I was well within my standard parameters of normal behavior.

But, hey! Social experimentation is cool!

Filed under: Ghetto, Laced, Miscellany

2 Responses

  1. DisplacedPersona says:

    as-Salaamu ‘alaykum

    Haha, that IS amusing and it’s given me ideas…hmm…all will be revealed shortly…

    So yeah, the next time something majorly embarrassing happens in public (your case in point), and instead of glancing nervously around to determine whether I’ve been caught, I’m going to act casual and attribute it to some psychosocial study being conducted.

    Just a question, what’s dead people got to do with falling out of a chair?

  2. maverick007 says:

    Well, the dead people comment was about how people people have become fairly desensitized to pain and suffering. I’m not saying I was in any pain or suffering, but people will often just rather look away or pretend they didn’t see or hear someone in trouble, rather than go help them out.

Leave a Reply

