Maverick

Icon

Unbranded and home on the range.

No matter what.

Once there was a scholar whom Allaah ta3ala had blessed with four children, all boys. 

One day, one of the boys passed away, and upon being told the news, the scholar’s reaction was truly exemplary. He said:

“Alhamdulillaah for what He gave, and alhamdulillaah for what He took. He took back only one of  my sons and left the other three. Alhamdulillaah.”

When I heard about that, I paused for a moment to reflect on all the things God had taken from me, but all the many more things He had left with me. Whatever he had taken, was His anyways, and what He had left with me, I am thankful for. So this is just a reminder to everyone that hey, no matter how tough it may get in this life, you still have it good and awesome compared to billions of other people. So live and love, laugh and learn.

Today I was in the kitchen after lunch helping myself to a load of ice cream and as I started walking away with my bowl to my bedroom, I burst out laughing. My sister asked me what was so funny and I turned around, shrugged my shoulders and said “I dunno. I’m just laughing.” – I was laughing at nothing in particular and laughing at everything that Allaah had given to me, in specific.

Because whatever I have, I’m happy with, alhamdulillaah.

Filed under: Cradle, Leadership, Solace

6 Responses

  1. a brother says:

    “And (remember) when your Lord proclaimed, ‘If you are grateful, I will surely increase you (in favour)…’” (Ibraaheem: 7)

  2. aishah says:

    happiness is knowing it’s all in Allah’s hands

  3. sumaiya says:

    Also knowing that whatever He (swt) does has good in it for a Believer.

  4. Do you know what scholar that was by any chance?

  5. Maverick says:

    Umm Abdullah no I cant remember where I read that but its like, around here somewhere, I’ll find it, insha’allah

Leave a Reply

