Maverick

Icon

Unbranded and home on the range.

Say it for me

 

Show me what it’s like…
To be the last one standing.
And teach me wrong from right…
And I’ll show you what I can be.
Say it for me
Say it to me
And I’ll leave this life behind me…
Say it if it’s worth saving me.

 

 

She kissed the photo and on the back she scribbled “my little soldier” – either with little idea of what he would be forced to become, or with the hope that only a mother can have…

Have you ever been in a situation where you were caught between a rock and a hard place? In a challenging, long-term situation … with gray skies overhead and barren earth below. But instead of giving up or buckling under, you just shrug your shoulders and kept going? You trusted Allaah to give you strength of heart, of mind, of limb, … and so He did. You trusted in Him to bring the sunrise when He knew it was time to do so … and so you patiently bore the horrors of the night.

To the extent that you nearly became like a zombie. Just working, eating, sleeping … trudging along, doing what you have to do, never falling, never despairing. Just putting your head down into the cold wind, pulling your cloak a bit tighter around your shoulders. The tears fall from your glazed eyes, causing flowers to grow along the way, behind your steps … but you never see them. The smile comes every now and then to your lips, as fleeting as the lightning that flashes in the distance … but you have no comrade to reflect that smile back at you.

Through all the joys, through all the sorrows … that single finger of Ahad mirrored the steely resolve of your mind … that He will deliver you to sanctuary.

Have you?

Savin’ Me [Nickelback]

Prison gates won’t open up for me
On these hands and knees I’m crawlin’
Oh, I reach for you
Well I’m terrified of these four walls
These iron bars can’t hold my soul in
All I need is you
Come please I’m callin’
And oh I scream for you
Hurry I’m fallin’, I’m fallin’

Show me what it’s like
To be the last one standing
And teach me wrong from right
And I’ll show you what I can be
Say it for me
Say it to me
And I’ll leave this life behind me
Say it if it’s worth saving me

Heaven’s gates won’t open up for me
With these broken wings I’m fallin’
And all I see is you
These city walls ain’t got no love for me
I’m on the ledge of the eighteenth story
And oh I scream for you
Come please I’m callin’
And all I need from you
Hurry I’m fallin’, I’m fallin’

Show me what it’s like
To be the last one standing
And teach me wrong from right
And I’ll show you what I can be
Say it for me
Say it to me
And I’ll leave this life behind me
Say it if it’s worth saving me
Hurry I’m fallin’

And all I need is you
Come please I’m callin’
And oh I scream for you
Hurry I’m fallin’, I’m fallin’, I’m fallin’

Show me what it’s like
To be the last one standing
And teach me wrong from right
And I’ll show you what I can be
And say it for me
Say it to me
And I’ll leave this life behind me
Say it if it’s worth saving me
Hurry I’m fallin’

Say it for me
Say it to me
And I’ll leave this life behind me
Say it if it’s worth saving me

Filed under: Cradle, Exhaust, Rune

6 Responses

  1. BeerOot says:

    isma3 ya wlad

    what did u tell me about the silver lining on the cloud?

  2. ummnour says:

    SubhanAllah, that was really nice…”To the extent that you nearly became like a zombie” That’s exactly how I feel…There’s no “life” in life anymore…You just do what you gotta do and keep moving on….

  3. Maverick says:

    Yes you keep moving on, but with the belief that the warm sunrise will come. And then it’ll all seem to have been so transient, so temporary.

    Its that yaqeen that makes you keep walking.

  4. sumaiya says:

    I just read your post. Put a smile on my face. SubhanAllah, what a coincidence. I’ve telling myself to “just keep going” these past few days, it’s the only way to stay sane these days.

  5. Hala says:

    salamualaykum

    yah bro Mustafa’s is right theres a silver lining on evry cloud 🙂

    wheres that mirror you keep talking about anyways hold it up to your face now huh

  6. layal says:

    salaam,

    New one. Anyways, nice blog…

Leave a Reply

