Maverick

Icon

Unbranded and home on the range.

Unwavering Trust

Imagine a kid, a young boy.

Standing there with his father behind his back, he feels safe and secure; he has his father’s arms at his neck and shoulders. They’re watching something … anything … it could be watching the sunset, watching the effects of a rainstorm, watching a car accident, watching some construction crew working with machinery, whatever. The kid feels safe and secure knowing that his father will protect him from the crazy world, knowing that his father will not abandon him, knowing that his father will explain anything confusing to him … and so the kid has either a contented smile or an inquisitive look, on his face the whole time … and anytime he sees something he doesn’t understand, he immediately relies and trusts his father to explain it to him.

The kid has absolute, unwavering confidence that his father knows everything, that his father is the perfect source for all the answers … that is the way the kid thinks, with that big smile on his face, and those starry eyes, and all those dreams in his head.

And in this picture, if I am the kid, then the arms around my shoulders, the hand that is over my head protecting me wherever I go, the entity that I rely on if anything seems confusing … is none other than Allaah.

He is closer to me than my own jugular vein, He is more nearer to me than my own heart, or even than my own blood.

I rely on Him the same way because I know He loves me more than my parents ever could, and all those times when I was out, alone, it was Allaah alone who brought me to what I needed, brought me to do what I needed to do. I have never felt like I didnt have Him at my back.

Never.

Every step I take, every move I make, everytime I reach my hand for something, … my insurance policy … is Him alone. My eeman is what underlines everything I do in life, my confidence, my assertion, my everything … no matter what I face in this life, no matter how troubling or even if at first glance it seems paradoxical, confusing, or nearly impossible … I take it with quiet grace and wait for Allah to show me what its all about, on His own time, and not on mine.

Filed under: Leadership, Solace

7 Responses

  1. Umm Qaylah says:

    As-Salaamu ‘Alaykum,

    Masha-Allaah, I have no words to describe the beauty of this article.

    WalHumdu-Lillaah for our Deen.

    ‘Alaykum As-Salaam

  2. Umm Khawla says:

    This reminds me of the words of Imaam Ibn al-Qayyim rahimahullaah: “If the servant of Allaah knows that he cannot escape nor change the plan of Allaah, he will commit all his affairs to Allaah and throw himself between His hands as a humble servant throws himself between the hands of a mighty king who has authority over him and indeed the servant has no power of his own. When the servant knows all that, he will be relieved from all distress and sadness and will pass the burden to Allaah who does not care or get tired. Allaah will carry them; show him kindness and mercy without any tiredness.”

    Trust in Allaah is sweet indeed, whether you percieve the fruits of it in this dunya or you don’t, it has this calming effect on your heart and you know, that no matter what, no matter how long it takes, there is relief and there is an answer to the constant du`aas you make.

  3. UmmNour says:

    MashAllah.

    SubhanAllah, Tawakkul in Allah is such a amazing feeling.

  4. nuqtah says:

    I like what you write man…much respect.

  5. Asma says:

    love ur writing! Mashallah.

Leave a Reply

